Tooele Transcript Bulletin – News in Tooele, Utah

February 5, 2019
Cowboys send 18 to 3A state tourney

The Grantsville wrestling team will have 18 representatives at the Class 3A state tournament after a successful trip to Richfield for the Division A tournament on Friday and Saturday.

Eighteen Cowboys punched their tickets to the state tournament by finishing within the top eight of their respective weight classes, led by 170-pounder Koby Johnson and 126-pounder Thomas Coates. Each came home with a second-place finish, with Johnson losing the 170-pound title match to Union’s Jate Frost in a 13-3 major decision and Coates losing to Juab’s Conner Ingram by tech fall in his championship match.

Bodey Manzanares finished third at 152 pounds, avenging his quarterfinal loss to Carbon’s Nathan Crowley with a 6-2 decision in the third-place match. Logan Kuehn will also enter the state tournament as a No. 3 seed at 220 pounds, bouncing back from his semifinal loss to pin Juab’s Hunter Blackburn 58 seconds into the third-place match.

Kole Johnson (106) and Jacob Day (132) each finished fourth in their weight classes. Trent Johnson (182) finished fifth and Austin Wilcox (138), Richard Walker (182) and Colin Nay (195) each were sixth-place finishers.

Lance Pitt (113), Dwayne Perry (145), Canyon Palmer (152) and Cruz Baldovinez (160) all qualified for the state tournament by finishing seventh. Ian Mecham (106), Nathen Carpenter (132) and Hunter Giles (195) each finished eighth, as did Hunter Johnson (160).

The state tournament will take place at the UCCU Center on the campus of Utah Valley University in Orem. The opening rounds begin at noon Feb. 15, with the championship semifinals set for 10:30 a.m. and the finals at 4:45 p.m. Feb. 16.


Darren Vaughan
Darren Vaughan

Latest posts by Darren Vaughan (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>