Tooele Transcript Bulletin – News in Tooele, Utah

July 11, 2017
At home in Rush Valley

Grantsville native Rydalch wins bareback riding crown with 80-point effort 

The thunderstorm that rolled over Red Kirk Arena just before the start of the 45th annual Rush Valley Riders Jackpot Rodeo may have cooled off the scorching summer temperatures Saturday evening, but it didn’t put a damper on an evening of thrilling rodeo action.

The evening couldn’t have gone much better for Grantsville native Dillon Rydalch, who brought home the victory in bareback riding with a score of 80 points. Rydalch won the Rocky Mountain Professional Rodeo Association’s bareback title a year ago, and currently sits eighth on this year’s money list, boosted by his payday of more than $450 on Saturday.

Wyatt Peterson was second with 70 points, with Hadley Peterson third with 61 points.

JR Peterson scored 79 points to win the saddle bronc title by one point over Scott Larkin. Hayden Boardman was third with 70 points.

Shelby Pulham finished first in breakaway roping with a time of 2.0 seconds. Megan Burbidge was second at 3.0 seconds, Jordan Sorenson was third at 3.2 and Kelsie Keller was fourth at 3.7.

Ryan Yamauchi won a tight battle for the top spot in calf roping, clocking in at 8.7 seconds. Brodi Jones was second at 8.8, followed by Justin Truman at 8.9 and Josh Jennings at 9.0.

Ben Carson claimed the steer wrestling title with a time of 5.6 seconds. Ryley C. Johnson was second at 5.9 seconds and Wyatt Caldwell was third at 7.3.

Darcy Grant had the fastest barrel racing run of the weekend, finishing in 17.594 seconds. Stephanie Kunz (17.845) was second, followed by Sage Cummings (18.047) and Teri Wood Gates (18.108).

Thad Ward and Olin Pulham dominated the team roping competition with their winning time of 6.4 seconds. Clay Berry and Jace Nielson were second at 11.5, and Chase Sanders and Kelly Elton were third at 12.7. Jake Jarvis and Dylan Ahlstrom finished fourth in 13.8 seconds.

The bulls got the better of the bull riders, with nobody able to stay on for the eight seconds required to record a score.

The rodeo was sanctioned by the Rocky Mountain Professional Rodeo Association, which holds rodeos throughout the region. For more information on the RMPRA, current standings and upcoming events, visit

Darren Vaughan
Darren Vaughan

Latest posts by Darren Vaughan (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>