Tooele Transcript Bulletin – News in Tooele, Utah
image Martin Cardenas, riding the No. 36 Yoshimura Suzuki GSX-R1000, scored an upset win in Sunday’s AMA Pro National Guard SuperBike Championship race at Miller Motorsports Park. photo courtesy of Jeremy Henrie

August 6, 2013
Cardenas picks up surprise victory at MMP

Martin Cardenas, Cameron Beaubier, Joe Roberts and Steve Rapp picked up wins as part of the GEICO Motorcycle AMA Pro Road Racing weekend at Miller Motorsports Park.

The two-day motorcycle racing event featured four classes of motorcycles in a doubleheader format. The AMA Pro National Guard SuperBike, AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike and AMA Pro SuperSport classes all raced on Saturday and Sunday, and the AMA Pro Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson series raced on Sunday only.

Cardenas scored an upset win in the top race, the National Guard SuperBike class. This was only his second win ever in that class. Three-time SuperBike champion Josh Hayes crashed his bike in the early stages of the 16-lap race, which set up a back-and-forth contest between Cardenas and Roger Hayden.

The two racers changed hands with the lead multiple times until Hayden experienced mechanical troubles in the closing laps. Hayden’s bike stalled in the final corners of the last lap, and he fell behind to finish 4.5 seconds behind the winner, Cardenas.

Josh Herrin, the winner of Saturday’s race, finished in third place, Danny Eslick finished in fourth, and Geoff May rounded out the top five racers. Salt Lake City racer Oleg Pianykh finished in 13th place, and previous favorite Hayes finished in 18th place.

In the GoPro Daytona SportBike race, Beaubier, the championship leader, dominated the weekend by finishing Sunday with ninth victory of the season, which tied the series record set by Cardenas last year. Garrett Gerloff, JD Beach, Jake Lewis and Jake Gagne rounded out the top five.

Rookie sensation Roberts continued his strong run this season with more success in the SuperSport class. Roberts, 16, picked up his fifth victory in as many races, leading every lap for a .198-second finish ahead of Tomas Puerta. Wyatt Farris finished third, Erick Sanchez fourth and Miles Thornton fifth.

Steve Rapp, the championship leader in the Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson series, won his fourth consecutive race at MMP on Sunday. Rapp set the track record in Saturday’s provisional qualifying, and in Sunday’s race he finished .857-second ahead of Tyler O’Hara. Defending series champion Michael Barnes finished 10 seconds back in third place.

Plenty of action is still to come at Miller Motorsports Park during the next two weekends. Starting Saturday and going through Sunday, MMP hosts the Sports Car Club of America Utah Region’s Great Salt Race, along with Round Five of the National Auto Sport Association Utah Region’s 2013 championship, Round Four of the Lucas Oil Off Road Regional Series-Utah and Round Six of the Utah Kart Championship presented by Sunoco Race Fuels.

The next major event at MMP will take place on Aug. 17 with the Inaugural Built Ford Tough Utah National, Round 11 of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship.

For facility and event information about MMP, call 435-277-7223 or visit MMP’s website at

Richard Briggs

Community News Editor at Tooele Transcript Bulletin
Richard Briggs is community news editor, sports writer and copy editor for the Tooele Transcript-Bulletin. Born in San Diego and raised in St. George, Briggs graduated with a degree in communications from Dixie State College in 2012. While there he worked three years for the college’s newspaper, the Dixie Sun, as a sports writer and sports editor. During his senior year, he was editor in chief. Briggs also is a 2005 graduate from Snow Canyon High School. From 2006 to 2008 he served a mission for The Church of Jesus Christ of latter-day Saints in Kentucky. As community news editor, Briggs writes, edits and manages editorial and photographic content for the Transcript-Bulletin’s inside pages and sections, including Hometown and Bulletin Board.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>