Tooele Transcript Bulletin – News in Tooele, Utah

December 9, 2014
Commissioners, lawmakers want to hear from you about the prison

How do you feel about the prison coming to Tooele County? Citizens have opinions all across the spectrum. What is yours?

The Tooele County Commissioners and our state legislators want to hear from you before a decision is made. Email usually works best, so please let them know how you feel.

Our Tooele County representatives’ email addresses are as follows: Sen. Daniel Thatcher, dthatcher@utahsenate.org; Sen. Peter Knudson, pknudson@utahsenate.org; Rep. Doug Sagers, dougsagers@le.utah.gov; Rep. Merrill Nelson, mnelson@le.utah.gov; Commissioner Bruce Clegg, jbruceclegg@co.tooele.ut.us; Commissioner Jerry Hurst, jhurst@co.tooele.ut.us; and Commissioner Shawn Milne, smilne@co.tooele.ut.us.

Now is the time to stand up and be counted, whether you are for or against the prison locating in Tooele County. This is our county, let your voice be heard!

In other matters, applications are now being taken for the next round of Community Development Block Grants (CDBG).

These grants are to fund Community Projects that have three main objectives:

• To principally benefit low- and moderate-income persons.

• To aid in the elimination of slum and blight.

• To assist a community with urgent health and welfare needs.

Every project must meet one of the three objectives in order to qualify for funding. Utah’s primary objective is to benefit lower income residents, therefore at least 70 percent of state funding must benefit persons at or below the area median income.

Some of the projects in Tooele County that received funding in the past were: $150,000 for Tooele County Housing Authority’s Homeless Prevention and Homebuyer Assistance; $119,451 for Wendover City’s fire hydrant replacement; and $230,000 for Tooele County Valley Behavioral Health’s property acquisition for the Domestic Violence Shelter.

If you have a project that you think may meet the requirements, please go to the WFRC.org website or follow this link www.wfrc.org/new_wfrc/index.php/wfrc-programs/community-development-block-grant-program and apply today.

For specific questions, please contact Tooele County Recorder Jerry Houghton at jhoughton@co.tooele.ut.us or call 435-843-3184.

 

Marilyn K. Gillette is the Tooele County Clerk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>