Tooele Transcript Bulletin – News in Tooele, Utah

February 16, 2012
Delayed e-mail delivery helpful in many ways

In some instances, it may be necessary for you to compose an e-mail message and then set it to be sent at a future time. This delayed delivery can be helpful in many ways.

For example, let’s say you work for a newspaper in their business classified ad department. After you take an order from a customer, you can compose an e-mail message to be sent to the customer reminding them that their ad is about to expire and they can renew it to avoid interruption of their ad. You can then set the date to send your message a few days before the expiration of the ad and like magic, the customer reminder e-mail is sent automatically to them at the appropriate time. Outlook follow-up options can help you become better at customer service and sales.

Open Outlook and then open a new e-mail message. Go ahead and compose your message and insert the e-mail address of the person to receive your message.

If you are using Microsoft Outlook 2003, click the “Options” button above the “To” field and the “Message Options” dialog box will appear.

If you are using Outlook 2007 or 2010, compose your message and then click the “Options” tab in the ribbon. Next, click “Delay Delivery” and the “Message Options” or “Properties” dialog box will open.

All users, under the “Delivery Options” section, checkmark “Do not deliver before:” and choose your date and time. If you want the delivery to expire at a specific time, choose that date and time. Checkmark “Save copy of sent message” and click “Close.” If you have finished writing your message, click “Send” and the e-mail message will be placed in your “Outbox” folder and will remain there until the assigned time for it to be released.

There are a couple of things to remember when using the delayed message delivery option. First, after the message has been sent and is waiting in the “Outbox” folder, do not close Microsoft Outlook or shut down your computer because it could interfere with sending your message. If you do close Outlook or shut down your computer, and the time for your message to be sent has passed, your e-mail message will be sent the next time you open Outlook.

Next, if you change your mind about sending your message, you can open your “Outbox” folder, click on the message once and then press “Delete” on your keyboard and the message will be moved to your “Deleted Items” folder, canceling the sending of the message.

Practice using this feature a couple of times so you can become adept at using it before you really need it.

 

Scott Lindsay actively promotes learning the computer, regardless of age, to better one’s life and circumstances and has helped thousands of people over the past 10 years to become better computer users. He can be reached at Scott@HelpTooele.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>