Tooele Transcript Bulletin – News in Tooele, Utah

August 20, 2013
Holeshot Championship in 450cc going down to the wire

One more stop for AMA Pro Motocross racers after Saturday’s events at Miller Motorsport Park 

On the day when Ryan Villopoto locked up the 450cc season title in the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship at the Built Ford Tough Utah National, he also turned the Holeshot Championship into a three-rider competition heading into next week’s season finale.

Villopoto won the holeshot in the first moto on Saturday at Miller Motorsports Park, which puts him three points of leader James Stewart with four points up for grabs at the Red Bull Lake Elsinore National.

“It’s incredible to get (the championship) done a race early,” Villopoto said. “I’m going into Lake Elsinore with no pressure.”

Points for the Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot Championship are earned in every moto in the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship. The first moto is worth one point, the second moto awards two points, and any rider who takes both holeshots at the same race receives a bonus point.

To win the Holeshot Championship, Villopoto and his Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki must sweep both holeshots at next week’s race to get around Stewart. Second-place Justin Barcia needs to score two points more than Stewart to win the $25,000 prize outright. In the case of a tie, the rider with the most Moto 2 holeshots wins the title.

Saturday’s second 450cc holeshot was won by Ryan Sipes.

On the 250cc side, Wil Hahn clinched the $15,000 award last weekend at Unadilla. Hahn’s GEICO Honda teammate Justin Bogle won Moto 2 to move into a second-place tie with another GEICO Honda rider, Zach Osborne. Martin Davalos won Moto 1 aboard his Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>