Tooele Transcript Bulletin – News in Tooele, Utah

May 27, 2014
Pair of area graduates awarded Comcast scholarship

The Comcast Foundation, founded in 1999 to provide charitable support to its local communities and to empower and enrich lives, honored the 2014 Utah recipients of its annual Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Ceremony at the Utah State Capitol Rotunda on Wednesday.

Comcast provided 36 Utah students with $60,000 in college scholarships through the 2014 Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program. Ten of the winning students were also given a netbook computer to use at college.

Allie Beckett of Grantsville High School was given a one-time scholarship of $1,000 and a new laptop. Kathryn Bryant was given a one-time scholarship of $1,000.

“These students are our future leaders and we are excited to award them scholarships,” said Kyle McSlarrow, Regional Vice President for Comcast. “Comcast awards scholarships to students who demonstrate leadership abilities in school activities, reflect a strong commitment to community service and have high academic standards. We hope the scholarships will help to power these students as they pursue their dreams for success.”

Utah Senate President Wayne Niederhauser was the keynote speaker at the Comcast Leaders and Achievers Ceremony which was held at the Utah State Capitol Rotunda. Following the ceremony students and their families were taken on tour of the State Capitol building.

The Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program provides one-time $1,000 scholarships to students who strive to achieve their potential, who are catalysts for positive change in their communities, who are involved in their schools, and who serve as models for their fellow students. This year, four of the students were surprised with $5,000 Presidents scholarships, and one student was surprised with a $10,000 Founder scholarship at the ceremony. The $5,000 scholarship winners included LaRae Day from Timpanogos High School, Miriam Trujillo from Ogden High School, Noah Horvath from West High School, Jared Gonzalez from Riverton High School. The $10,000 scholarship winner was John Vo from Skyline High School.

The philosophy behind the program is to give young people every opportunity to be prepared for the future, to engage youth in their communities, and to demonstrate the importance of civic involvement, and the value placed on civic involvement by the business community.

The Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program was launched nationally in 2001, and Comcast has awarded nearly $20 million in scholarships in the years since its inception.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>