Tooele Transcript Bulletin – News in Tooele, Utah

February 12, 2013
Sports Wrap – February 12, 2013

Grantsville boys basketball

The Cowboys were still within reach down 27-19 at halftime, but Ogden outscored Grantsville 15-5 in the third quarter to take control of the game on Friday. The Tigers went on to win the game 62-33 in the final game of the season for Grantsville. The Cowboys finish the year at 2-10 in Region 11 and 6-16 overall. Devin Adams led the way for the Cowboys against Ogden with 10 points and one 3-pointer, Skyler Cloward scored 6 with one 3-pointer. Cloward and Landon Hammond each had four rebounds for the Cowboys while Caleb Edwards led in assists with four. Eight Cowboys scored in the game while six scored for the Tigers with a game-high 26 from Spencer Smith. Grantsville started the region season at 2-0 with victories over Stansbury and Tooele, but then dropped the next 10 region games. After a win over Tooele back on Dec. 21, 2012, Grantsville lost the next 13 games. Ogden finished in fourth place in Region 11 and will play at Spanish Fork in the state tornament on Friday. In other first-round games for Region 11 teams Delta will play at Ben Lomond, Bear River will travel to Payson and region champ Morgan will host Carbon.

Girls softball

Tooele County Girls Softball is holding sign-ups on Wednesday, Feb.13 at Macey’s and WalMart from 5 p.m. to 8 p.m. Sign-ups also will be held on Saturday, Feb. 16 at Big 5 from noon to 3 p.m., and at the Dow James Complex from 6:30 p.m. to 9 p.m. More sign-ups will be held Saturday, Feb. 23 at the Dow James Complex from 6:30 p.m. to 9 p.m. Registration information can be found on the league’s website at

Grantsville softball

Grantsville Girls Softball sign-ups ups will be every Saturday through March 2. Sessions will be held at Grantsville Jr. High, Grantsville High School and also in Stansbury at Soelberg’s from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. A player’s birth certificate is needed to register. Cost is $50.

12U Super League baseball

The TC Bandits, a 12U baseball team, will be holding tryouts for the upcoming spring season. Players should be 12 or younger on April 30, 2013 to participate. Tryouts will be on Saturday, Feb. 2 from 6-7:30 p.m., at the Dow James building. For questions please contact Heath Fackrell (435) 241-9440 or Chad Shields (435) 830-8405.

TC United

TC United Soccer is currently accepting registrations for the upcoming spring season. For registration information please visit the website at

Utah Jazz

The Utah Jazz (28-24) host the Oklahoma City Thunder (39-12) tonight at EnergySolutions Arena after falling to the Sacramento Kings (19-33) 120-109 on Saturday. Rookie guard Alec Burks came off the bench to score 24 points for the Jazz in the game at Sacramento. Guards Isaiah Thomas and Marcus Thornton led the way for the Kings with 25 and 24 points respectively. Former BYU player Jimmer Fredette scored 9 for the Kings. Utah plays at Minnesota on Wednesday. The NBA All-Star game is set for Sunday at 5 p.m. on TNT.

Slam dunk contest

Utah Jazz forward Jeremy Evans will defend his title in the 2013 Sprite Slam Dunk on Saturday at Toyota Center in Houston during NBA All-Star weekend. The Slam Dunk airs live on TNT at 6 p.m. as part of All-Star Saturday Night.

“It is very exciting to have the opportunity to participate, not just for the first time, but to be able to go back for a second time,” said Jeremy Evans. “I want to top what I did last year and come out and try to win it again.”

The first Jazz player ever selected NBA Slam Dunk champion, Evans aims to repeat his success in the 2013 Sprite Slam Dunk. Evans received 29 percent of the more than 4 million fan votes cast worldwide en route to his victory during last year’s contest. Feb. 29, 2012 was officially declared “Jeremy Evans Day” in Utah by Governor Gary R. Herbert in his honor. Should the 6-9, 194 pound forward take home the 2013 Slam Dunk crown, he would become the sixth player in NBA history to win multiple Dunk titles, and would join the select group of Michael Jordan (1987, 1988), Jason Richardson (2002, 2003) and Nate Robinson (2009, 2010) as the only players to win the title in back-to-back years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>