Tooele Transcript Bulletin – News in Tooele, Utah

February 8, 2018
State wrestling meet begins Friday

The Class 3A and Class 4A state wrestling tournaments get under way Friday at the UCCU Center on the campus of Utah Valley University in Orem, and Tooele County will be well-represented.

Grantsville is sending 14 grapplers to the Class 3A tournament, while Stansbury will have 10 wrestlers and Tooele will have four in the Class 4A brackets. GHS has three wrestlers who finished in the top four in their respective weight classes during last weekend’s divisional tournament, while Stansbury is led by divisional champion Anthony Herrera and runners-up Dylian Moore and Logan Gustafson. Wyatt Chaplin finished second in his weight class at divisionals and leads Tooele’s contingent.

Herrera won the Division A title at 138 pounds, and is set to meet Bear River’s Weston Hirschi in the first round of the 4A tournament Friday. Moore, the No. 2 seed from Division A at 113, will face Sky View’s Isaac Walker, and defending state champion Logan Gustafson, who earned a No. 2 seed at 145, faces county rival and No. 7 seed D’Warren Robinson of Tooele in Round 1.

Jacob Medsker (160) is a No. 3 seed and will wrestle against Jaidon Tueller of Payson, and Dawson Stewart (152) is a No. 4 seed who takes on Brok McLeod of Spanish Fork. Jake Otero (106) earned a meeting with Mountain Crest’s Anthony Lopez by finishing fifth at divisionals, while Jamon Davis (160) is a No. 6 seed and will take on Spanish Fork’s Tyler Giles.

Brayden Philips (106) is a No. 8 seed and will take on Division B champion Zackery Bingham of Bear River. Walker Beck’s eighth-place finish at divisionals means he’ll face Division B champ Wyatt Monroe of Payson at 182, and No. 8 seed Braxton Ard (285) meets Division B champion Eli Wells of Mountain Crest.

For Tooele, Chaplin’s No. 2 seed has him set to meet Green Canyon’s Hayden Bennett in Round 1. He is on the same side of the bracket as Stansbury’s Herrera, meaning the two could meet in the state semifinals if all goes according to plan. Carter Grgich (170) finished fifth at divisionals and will face Uintah’s Cameron Laris, and Patrick Si’I Iongi will take on Division A champion Blake Alsip of Uintah as a No. 8 seed at 220 pounds.

For Grantsville, 160-pounder Koby Johnson enters the Class 3A state tournament as the No. 2 seed from Division B, and will face Carbon’s Josiah Martinez in the first round. Thomas Coates, the third-place finisher at 113 pounds at divisionals, is set to meet North Sanpete’s Sean Stiglich to open his tournament, and Brayden Adams, who took fourth at 138 pounds in the divisional tournament last weekend in Richfield, will meet Union’s Wyatt Richards.

Logan Kuehn is a No. 5 seed at 220 pounds and will take on North Sanpete’s Christopher Miller. Colin Nay, a No. 5 seed at 285, will wrestle Grand’s Gage Hansen.

Grantsville’s No. 6 seeds include Jacob Day (120 pounds), who faces Union’s Bridger Green; Nathen Carpenter (132), who faces Ethan Larsen of Manti; Bodey Manzanares (152), who will take on Union’s Brock Brinkerhoff; Colby Johnson (160), who will grapple with Justyn Mitchell of American Leadership Academy; and Jonas Floyd (220), who will step onto the mat with Manti’s Jason Henningson.

Grantsville 145-pounder Seth Hicken has a difficult first-round match against top-seeded Jate Frost of Union. Richard Walker will face No. 1 seed Tanner Shields of Delta at 170; Chaz Shafer gets No. 1 Yair Moran of Delta in the first round at 182; and Morgun Lowry will take on No. 1 Porter Fox of South Summit at 285.

First-round action begins Friday at noon, with the tournament ending for the night at approximately 8:30 p.m. It will pick up again Saturday at 11 a.m. with the championship semifinals and consolation quarterfinals. Consolation semifinals (12:30 p.m.) and consolation finals (2 p.m.) will follow, with the state championship matches scheduled to begin at 4:30 p.m.

Darren Vaughan
Darren Vaughan

Latest posts by Darren Vaughan (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>