Tooele Transcript Bulletin – News in Tooele, Utah

January 5, 2022
Swearing in

The peaceful transfer of power occurred quietly at noon on Monday in Tooele County as swearing in ceremonies were held at noon in city halls across the county as municipal officials elected in November 2021 officially assumed office after a simple ceremony.

Prescribed by the Utah State Constitution, each newly or re-elected official raised their hand and recited their oath of office: “I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support, obey, and defend the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the State of Utah, and that I will discharge the duties of my office with fidelity.”

In Grantsville, Neil Critchlow began his first term as mayor, Scott Bevan and Jolene Jenkins were sworn in as new city council members and Jesse Wilson became the interim city manager.

In Stockton, Nando Meli was sworn in as the town’s new mayor, David Nutzman and Henry Thomas became Stockton Town Council members.

In Tooele City, Mayor Debbie Winn started her second term as mayor, Maresa Manzione, who was appointed to fill a vacancy on the city council one year ago, was sworn in for a four-year term after winning the election in November 2021 and Dave McCall was returned to the city council by voters after he lost a bid for a fourth term by four votes in 2019 after a recount.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>