Tooele Transcript Bulletin – News in Tooele, Utah
image Pictured are the winners of Stansbury Park Elementary School’s Book Battle. On the top row from left are Kayla McConkey, Zeke Buckingham, Angela Shaw, Matthew Topham, Landon Richins, Nate Leary and Levi Gomez. Kneeling down from left are Luke Obray, Emery Nielson, Lauren Swallow, Kimberlin Davies, Tatelyn Larsen and Eliza Fergussen. Not pictured are Willard Horrocks and Shawn Ringwood.

February 20, 2014
Winners of 2014 Stansbury Park Book Battle

The Book Battle is an academic-based program that promotes a love of reading among students. Students in second through sixth grade read a variety of books and were challenged to remember information about the plots, characters and settings. After taking a comprehensive test in class, the 12 highest scorers from each grade level participated in a quiz show competition in front of their classmates.

Second Grade Winners: first place Emery Nielson, second place Kimberlin Davies, third place Lauren Swallow.

Third Grade Winners: first place Tatelyn Larsen, second place Eliza Fergussen, third place Shawn Ringwood.

Fourth Grade Winners: first place Matthew Topham, second place Kayla McConkey, third place Zeke Buckingham.

Fifth Grade Winners: first place Angela Shaw, second place Willard Horrocks, third place Luke Obray.

Sixth Grade Winners: first place Landon Richins, second place Nate Leary, third place Levi Gomez.

Also, Landon Richins, the first place winner in sixth grade, managed to win first place in Book Battle in every year he competed from second through sixth grades.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>